Some People Eat, Others See Therapists. I Travel.

For those of you who read last week’s post about our new slogan debate and Jared and I’s differing views on the direction that the core HoliDaze site should take, it should come as no surprise that there was a unanimous choice for a new slogan. What is it? Well as you may have guessed:
“Some People Eat, Others See Therapists. We Travel.”

But that opens the door to an even broader question… What do I gain out of traveling? What do others gain from traveling?

Diamond Head Volcano

Taken after hiking to the top of Diamond Head Volcano on Oahu, Hawaii

As I’ve said time and time again, I am a traveler, not a tourist. You will not catch me halfway around the world in some posh resort eating nearly the same meals I could find back home — that would be as likely as catching me at home on Wednesday for the weekly “meatloaf night.” While I was never raised with a rotating dinner schedule, I have always said that to find myself in a situation like that would be akin to death.

I travel to learn something new. I travel to experience activities I have never tried before. I travel to learn about history, to wander through nature and see the countless species of flora and fauna this planet supports, to try new foods, to make new friends and share new memories, to practice other languages, even if just a few words. I travel because Disney’s The Lion King taught me that “there is more to see than can ever be seen, more to do than can ever be done…”

Clubbing In Tokyo

Clubbing In Tokyo

I travel for a variety of reasons.

And yes, I travel to party too.

Many people feel mixed sentiment towards that statement. I know that in the past my saying it has caused a couple of other travelers to look at me like “Oh wow another f’ing American!” although for the record only one girl has every actually said that outloud.*

Read The Rest » http://ow.ly/1hR2os
@ my self-hosted blog.theHoliDaze.com

2 thoughts on “Some People Eat, Others See Therapists. I Travel.

Leave a Reply

